Kids’ Choice Sports 2019

Ages: 6 - 10Producer: Nickelodeon Rating: TV G - General Audience

The 6th Annual Kids’ Choice Sports 2019 awards were taped July 11, 2019, and this television special is chock-full of positive examples of good-sportsmanship and exuberant competition. Hosted by NFL Hall of Famer Michael Strahan, the program offers awards in categories including King of Swag, Clutch Player of the Year, Sickest Moves, and favorite athletes across a range of sports.

Athletic luminaries include Olivia Moultrie, a young soccer player who turned pro at age 13.  She presents the first award of the evening to Megan Rapinoe, recipient of the Generation Change Award honoring an athlete’s efforts for social causes and positive change.  Rapinoe’s acceptance speech sets the tone for other inspiring acceptance speeches throughout the evening, encouraging young viewers to believe in themselves and represent their sports with honor.  Additional award recipients include NBA star Dwayne Wade, Nikki Bella of the WWE, snowboarder Chloe Kim, Alpine Ski Racer Lindsey Vonn, tennis legend Serena Williams, and hockey star Sidney Crosby.

The ceremony also includes a medley of hits performed by Ciara, and lots of high-octane sports clips, plus live competition between all-star teams Orange Crunch and the Slime Slammers.  Contestants run obstacle courses, shoot hoops, solve puzzles, throw pies, and exhibit plenty of good humor as the trademark slime flies.

Sports news tends to focus on bench-clearing brawls, heated contract disputes, and the criminal wrongdoing of prestigious players.  Consider Kids’ Choice Sports 2019 a suitable antidote for those spotlight-hogging downers and steer your kids towards this celebration of sportsmanship, instead.


Gina Catanzarite ©2020 Parents’ Choice

Gina Catanzarite is an award-winning television producer, writer, teacher, mom and media consultant in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. She began her career in 1987 and counts 14 Emmy® awards, 37 Emmy® nominations, a Matrix award, 3 Golden Quill awards, 2 Pennsylvania Broadcaster’s Association Awards, 8 Telly Awards, and a screenwriting grant from the Theatre Association of Pennsylvania, among her professional honors.